• Did You Know?
    • At Saint Vincent, where 16 percent of the faculty are Benedictine priests and brothers, faculty and staff value each student and invest in their growth, both intellectual and spiritual. They provide a welcoming, supportive community and a challenging academic environment to help student make a purposeful start in life.
    • SVC offers up to $20,500 in renewable merit scholarships for high-achieving students.
Home > SVCPulse > News Archive

Eighty-Eight SVC Students to Participate in March for Life

Public Relations
Posted: Tuesday Jan 10, 2012

January 10, 2012

Eighty-eight Saint Vincent College students will participate in the 39th annual March for Life on Jan. 23 on the National Mall in Washington, D.C.

Under the direction of coordinator Michael Barkowski, the group will travel by bus accompanied by Fr. Jean-Luc Zadroga, O.S.B., and Fr. Killian Loch, O.S.B., Saint Vincent College Campus Ministers. The Saint Vincent delegation is sponsored by the Office of Campus Ministry in cooperation with the campus chapter of the Knights of Columbus and the Respect Life Club.

The March for Life, which has been held every year on the anniversary of the 1973 U.S. Supreme Court’s Roe v. Wade decisions that overturned all state laws against abortion, will begin with a noon rally and be followed by a march down the Mall to the Capitol and Supreme Court.

The Saint Vincent group will join with tens of thousands of abortion protestors including about 6,000 marchers from southwestern Pennsylvania.

Saint Vincent College participants will include Trish Allan of Downingtown, Erika Anstead of Potomac, Maryland, Thomas Arnold of Dumfries, Virginia, Claire Badman of Hummelstown, Natalie Baker of Springfield, Claire Barkowski of Natrona Heights, Michael Barkowski of Natrona Heights, Mike Belitsky of Holtwood, Anna Christy of Sarver, Laura Cipriani of Cuddy, Carolyn Claybrooks of Dale City, Virginia, Simon Clayton of East Orange, New Jersey, Edward Consoli of Melrose, Massachusetts, Sean Crockette of Tucson, Arizona, Ben Daghir of Saint Marys, Luke Daghir of Saint Marys, Luke D’Amico of Mount Pleasant, Becky Davis of Dillsburg, Angela Delfine of Pittsburgh (15227), Caitlin Dempsey of North Huntingdon, Lauren Donahue of Walkersville, Maryland, Daniel Dougherty of Latrobe, Jason Elrod of Northbridge, Massachusetts, Emily Fisher of Monroeville, Sarah Formica of Elizabeth, Jake Fox of Ligonier, Maggie Garvey of Frederick, Maryland, Amanda Gans of Pittsburgh (15241), Albert Gestiehr of Pittsburgh (15210), Jackson Goetz of Gibsonia, Joseph Gray of Hopedale, Ohio, Kelsey Harris of Somerset, Luke Haywiser of Bethel Park, Shauna Hetrick of Johnstown, Nicholas Higgins of Apollo, Anna Hoffman of Saint Marys, Julia Horan of Sea Girt, New Jersey, Jonathon Jacobeen of Manassas, Virginia, Maria Jarvis of Clear Spring, Maryland, Natalie Jones of Export, Elisabeth Karnes of Washington, Mary Kate Kenna of Chantilly, Virginia, Patrick Kenna of Chantilly, Virginia, Josh Kilmer of Mechanicsburg, Sara Krug of Saint Marys, Kayla Kuntz of Greensburg, Aaron Kushner of New Castle, Maria Lang of Du Bois, Amy Lebair of Glenwood, Maryland, Mark Mannerino of Rochester, Sara Maurer of Pittsburgh (15241), Alison Maurer of Pittsburgh (15241), Meredith McGuire of Strongsville, Ohio, Bernadette Miller of South Lyon, Michigan, John Mitrik of Elkview, West Virginia, Sean Murphy of Marlton, New Jersey, Evan Neely of Franklin, James Orange of Latrobe, Mike O’Reilly of Johnstown, James O’Reilly of Johnstown, Melissa Oreski of Trafford, Michael Parisi of Reading, Samantha Pashel of Pittsburgh (15203), Michael Pater of New Kensington, Jon Pauley of Bethel Park, Julie Pomerleau of Jeannette, Sarah Pratt of Fairview, Sal Re of Latrobe, Sarah Rebitch of Delmont, Emily Rosati of Oakdale, Brody Ruffner of Newton, North Carolina, Emily Satkovich of Somerset, Kate Scanlon of Lexington, Kentucky, Lauren Schlieper of Wexford, Caitlin Schratz of Butler, Steve Sherman of Allison Park, Kathleen Sigg of Bethel Park, Maria Solomond of Wexford, Kayla Stadelman of Pittsburgh (15210), Kathleen Steinel of Lowell, Ohio, Daniel Swartz of Columbus, Ohio, Bo Tokarski of Pittsburgh (15216), Christopher Toy of Kittanning, Michael Villavicencio of Jersey City, New Jersey, Tom Waruszewski of Pittsburgh (15229), Aaron Wilkinson of Chambersburg, Natalie Woodruff of Ringoes, New Jersey, and Michael Yeckley of Greensburg.