• Did You Know?
    • At Saint Vincent, where 16 percent of the faculty are Benedictine priests and brothers, faculty and staff value each student and invest in their growth, both intellectual and spiritual. They provide a welcoming, supportive community and a challenging academic environment to help student make a purposeful start in life.
    • SVC offers up to $20,500 in renewable merit scholarships for high-achieving students.
Home > SVCPulse > News Archive

Eight SVC Boyer School Students Named Emerging Research Scholars

Public Relations
Posted: Friday Mar 8, 2013

March 8, 2013

Eight top students in Saint Vincent College’s Herbert W. Boyer School of Natural Sciences, Mathematics and Computing have been named Emerging Research Scholars to introduce them to research early in their academic careers and to encourage participation in the College’s Collaborative Learning Program.

Dr. Stephen Jodis, dean of the Boyer School, announced the second group of scholars at a program and reception at the Sis and Herman Dupré Science Pavilion Atrium on February 26.

“Three of our Boyer School departments – Biology, Chemistry and Computing and Information Science – are again involved in this exciting initiative,” Dr. Jodis explained. “In fall 2011, our Collaborative Learning Program launched a new Emerging Research Scholar program which encourages underclassmen to get involved in scientific research early in their careers as an incentive for continuing on in their science majors. Research Scholars are recognized by their departments as leaders in their class and will be given opportunities to work one-on-one with faculty members, helping them with their research. The Emerging Research Scholar initiative gives students an opportunity to build strong relationships with departmental faculty.”

The program is administered by Dr. Mandy Raab, director of the biotechnology program and a member of the bioinformatics program in the Boyer School.

Photo 1: Biology Department Emerging Research Scholars – Dr. Stephen Jodis, left, Dean of the Boyer School, Dr. Bruce Bethke, second from right, associate professor and chair of the Biology Department, and Dr. Jen Koehl, right, associate professor of biology, congratulate, from left, Candace Scanga, a freshman from Gibsonia; Bruce Stropko, a freshman from Sayre; and Natalie Nakles, a freshman from Latrobe.

Photo 2: Chemistry Department Emerging Research Scholars – Dr. Stephen Jodis, left, Dean of the Boyer School, Dr. Steve Gravelle, second from right, associate professor of chemistry; and Dr. Matthew Fisher, right, associate professor and chair of the Chemistry Department, congratulate, from left, Alexis Oropallo, a freshman from Friedens; Vincent Centore, a freshman from Canonsburg; Conor Sterling, a freshman from York; and Ellen Boller, a freshman from Latrobe.

Photo 3: Computing and Information Science Department Emerging Research Scholar – Dr. Stephen Jodis, left, Dean of the Boyer School; Dr. Cynthia Martincic, second from left, associate professor and chair of the Computing and Information Science Department; and Br. David Carlson, O.S.B., right, associate professor of computing and information science, congratulate Julian Whalen, a freshman from New Brighton.


Follow us on Twitter: @MySaintVincent
Like us on Facebook: