Home > SVCPulse > News Archive


Public Relations
Posted: Thursday Apr 26, 2012

April 26, 2012

Saint Vincent College presented awards to faculty and students at the annual Spring Honors Convocation held on April 25 in the Saint Vincent Basilica.

President Br. Norman W. Hipps, O.S.B., presented senior Michael G. Barkowski of Natrona Heights with the President’s Award. Honored faculty included: Dr. Robert J. Michalow, instructor of education and environmental science, who was presented with the Quentin Schaut Faculty Award; and Dr. Robert J. DePasquale, professor of accounting, who was presented the Boniface Wimmer Award.

Kaitlyn A. Hlebechuk of Jeannette, was the recipient of the 1968 Fr. Ronald Gorka Scholarship Award, presented by Dr. Peter M. Hutchinson, professor of economics. Angela M. Delfine of Pittsburgh (15227), was presented with the Ragan Poetry Award, presented by Michelle Gil-Montero, assistant professor of English.

Student Government Association Senior Awards were presented to Anna J. Fiano of Connellsville, Taylor L. Guido of Greensburg, Salvatore G. Re of Latrobe, John C. Scialabba of Butler, and Renold M. Sossong of Mineral Point. Student Government Association Awards were presented to Dr.
George H. Leiner, associate professor of philosophy; Jason M. Winters, director of campus life; and Derek Hile, facilities management office.

Graduate Awards for Academic Excellence in the Major Field of Study were presented to the following students: Anthony R. Barbato of Greensburg, School Administration and Supervision; Brandon P. Bower of Watsontown, Curriculum and Instruction; Carla Conrad of Greensburg, Health Services Leadership; Robert Peretti of Latrobe, Operational Excellence; Virginia E. Rothhaar of Bentleyville, Environmental Education; and Crystal L. Tokar of Irwin, Special Education.

Undergraduate Awards for Excellence in the Major Field of Study were presented to the following students: Joseph T. Anderson of Blairsville, Computing and Information Science; Joseph F. Aul of Pittsburgh (15236), Liberal Arts; Crystal M. Barrett of Bowie, Maryland, Anthropology; Katelyn J. Blotzer of Derry, Accounting; Clare M. Gates of Pittsburgh (15237), English; Courtney A. Grafton of New Kensington, Economics; Anna K. Henry of Hunker, Management; Sarah E. Hunter of Wampum, Studio Arts; Bethanie A. Kern of Avella, Graphic Design; Alexandria B. Klofta of New Alexandria, Environmental Science; Signe N. Lindberg of Keene, New Hampshire, Arts Administration Performing Arts; Kari A. Maurer of Pittsburgh (15220), Early Childhood Education; Jessica N. Miskanic of North Huntingdon, Biology; Emily A. Morris of New Alexandria, Spanish; Julie M. Pomerleau of Jeannette, Psychology and Theology; Michelle R. Pruchnik of Latrobe, Chemistry; Rebecca L. Raraigh of Fombell, Art Education; James M. Schorr of White Oak, Marketing; Jennifer R. Schweinsburg of Latrobe, Biochemistry; Brittany E. Sedlock of Northern Cambria, Mathematics; Martin S. Sherbondy of Greensburg, Bioinformatics; Chelsea A. Skonezny of Greensburg, International Business; Renold M. Sossong of Mineral Point, Politics; Simon Stuchlik of Derry, Communication; Daniel J. Swartz of Columbus, Ohio, Philosophy; Casey M. Wertz of Latrobe, History; Sarah C. Wesolowski of Scottdale, Physics; Gina M. Wiser of Vandergrift, Sociology; and Joseph M. Yezovich of North Braddock, Finance.

Special citations and awards were presented to the following students: Curtis N. Colaianne of Latrobe, Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants Award; Michelle R. Pruchnik of Latrobe, Student Educator Award – Secondary; Caitlin J. Sawyer of West Newton, Pre-Engineering Award; and Laura A. Wohar of Brownsville, ACBSP Student Leadership Award.

The following students received A. J. Palumbo Student Research Endowment Fund Awards: Maria Adams of Wadsworth, Ohio; Joseph Anderson of Blairsville; Claire Badman of Hummelstown; Brittany Banks of North Irwin; Clare Barkowski of Natrona Heights; Ashley Bellovich of Pittsburgh (15239); Christina Bielic of Rector; Bethany Biesinger of Johnstown; Cornelius Boggs of Newark, New Jersey; Samantha Boroski of Natrona Heights; Lucas Briola of Pittsburgh (15205); Kelly Brown of Acme; James Burns of Gaithersburg, Maryland; Zachery Bush of Latrobe; Danielle Byrne of Latrobe; Christopher Clements of Ligonier; Jayna Cline of Latrobe; Bethanne Dishler of New Brighton; Logan Dorminey of North Huntingdon; Andrew Egan of Irwin; Jeremy Flynn of Sterling, Virginia; Christopher Fontana of Canonsburg; Stephanie Foster of Pittsburgh (15205); Marie Fuga of North Huntingdon; Shane Gallaher of Summerhill; Angela Gartner of Pittsburgh (15289); Rona Gehring of Robinson; Taylor Guido of Greensburg; Bridget Harner of Crofton, Maryland; Julieann Heuler of Apollo; Karalyn Hillebrecht of Pittsburgh (15226); Kaitlyn Hlebechuk of Jeannette; Alec Howard of Allison Park; Diana Hric of Monongahela; Thomas Johnson of Vandergrift; Caleb Karasack of Latrobe; Megan Karazsia of Latrobe; David Kaser of Greensburg; Ashley Kernodle of Mount Pleasant; Andrew Kozusko of Whitney; Kara Laus of Carnegie; Melissa Mason of Sarver; Sara Maurer of Pittsburgh (15241); Jeffrey Mayer of Wilmington, Delaware; Meredith McGuire of Strongsville, Ohio; Jessica McKetta of Acme; Michael Milko of White Oak; Elizabeth Miller of Sewickley; Joseph Noble of Burke, Virginia; Stephanie Novak of Lowber; Katelyn Orslene of Somerset; Julianna Powlowski of Apollo; Julie Pomerleau of Jeannette; Blase Prosperi of Latrobe; Michelle Pruchnik of Latrobe; Kasey Radicic of Smithfield; Alexis Rodgers of Pittsburgh (15220), Kaitlyn Romell of Plum; Heidi Rupprecht of Saint Marys; David Rupprecht of Saint Marys; Anna Rutledge of DuBois; Jennifer Schweinsburg of Latrobe; Crystal Sherlock of McKeesport; John Sigg of Bethel Park; Anna Steighner of Kittanning; Aimee Stephenson of Delmont; Ashlee Stevens of New Castle; Zachary Tackett of Lower Burrell; Emily Taylor of Glenshaw; Brittani Taylor of Latrobe; Michael Tedesco of North Versailles; Travis Tokach of Donora; Anita Vescovi of Pittsburgh (15217); Sarah Weber of Gibsonia; Alison Weihl of Greensburg; Aaron Weiss of New Stanton; and Danielle Wiltrout of Mount Pleasant.


Follow us on Twitter: @SVCPublicity
Like us on Facebook: Saint Vincent College Public Relations

PR 2012-192