Home > SVCPulse > News Archive

Collaborative Learning Program Facilitators Named by Boyer School

Public Relations
Posted: Tuesday Oct 23, 2012

Oct. 23, 2012

Eleven upperclass students in the Saint Vincent College Herbert W. Boyer School of Natural Sciences, Mathematics and Computing, were named facilitators for the Collaborative Learning Program (CLP) based on their academic achievement and leadership skills. The CLP facilitators will host weekly peer-led discussion groups for underclassmen in a variety of courses offered by the Boyer School. Funded by the National Science Foundation’s Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Talent Expansion Program (STEP), this college initiative provides supplemental instruction focused on helping students acquire a deeper understanding of their science courses. Dr. Stephen Jodis, right, dean of the Boyer School, congratulates the new facilitators, front row from left, Vincent Anto, a sophomore biochemistry major from Ligonier; Andrew Egan, a senior biology major from North Huntingdon; Lauren Fockler, a sophomore biology major from Windber; Jake Hendrick, a senior environmental chemistry major from Ligonier; Nicole McCracken, a junior biochemistry major from Scottdale; Carissa Smith, a sophomore biochemistry major from Mercer; back row from left, Ben Summers, a sophomore computing and information science major from Minot AFB, North Dakota; Maria Swasy, a senior chemistry major from Blairsville; Bo Tokarski, a sophomore biochemistry major from Pittsburgh (15216); Sarah Weber, a senior biology major from Gibsonia; and Steffani Zuraw, a senior chemistry major from Belle Vernon.


Follow us on Twitter: @SVCPublicity
Like us on Facebook: Saint Vincent College Public Relations