Home > SVCPulse > News Archive

Student Theatre to Present 'Little Shop of Horrors' Nov. 16 to 18

Public Relations
Posted: Tuesday Nov 13, 2012

Nov. 13, 2012

The Company, Saint Vincent College’s student-run theatre group, will present the comedy horror rock musical, Little Shop of Horrors, as its annual fall performance at 8 p.m. Friday, Nov. 16, at 2 and 8 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 17 and at 2 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 18 in the Robert S. Carey Student Center Performing Arts Center at Saint Vincent. Admission is free for all performances though donations will be accepted. No reservations are required and seating is general admission. Doors will open one-half hour before each performance.

The two-act show, by composer Alan Menken and writer Howard Ashman, is being directed by Evan Hrobak, a junior English major from Spring Church. It is about a hapless florist shop worker who raises a plant that feeds on human blood and flesh. It is based on the low-budget 1960 black comedy film, The Little Shop of Horrors, directed by Roger Corman.

The music, composed by Menken in the style of early 1960s rock and roll, doo-wop and early Motown, includes several well-known tunes, including the title song, “Skid Row (Downtown)”, “Somewhere That’s Green” and “Suddenly, Seymour.”

The show is being led by Assistant Director Stacie Sikora, Producer Marla Crawford, Music Director Josh Gongaware, Choreographer Colleen Fisher and Assistant Choreographer Brandon Snyder.

The cast includes Mickey Orange as Seymore, Mandy Slowey as Audrey, Trish Allan as Mrs. Mushnik, Brandon Snyder as Orin Scrivello, Tom Cocchi as Audrey Two, and Caitlin Schratz, Stacie Sikora, Theresa Nath, Catherine Bellich, Kathryn Ordinway and Megan Samoriski as Urchins. Jordan Sonnett plays the role of Radio Announcer. Tessa Hennessey, Julianne Bartko, John Mitirik and Jessica Miller make up the ensemble.

The following students are helping with the technical aspects of the show:  Rory Mitrik, sound; Matt Gates, lights; Eric Scuilli, props; Nerissa McCollins, microphones; Averie Shaughnessey, house manager and Tanner Beal, Mark Harris and Molly Ouchis, concession stand.

Playing instruments in the pit ensemble are Andrew DeBroeck, pianist; Josh Gongaware, bass; Jake Noble, guitar; and Casey Ciocco, drums.

The group offers special thanks to Penny Lambright and Colleen Riley for allowing them to build their set, and use the theatre facilities, including props, costumes, and equipment.


Follow us on Twitter: @SVCPublicity
Like us on Facebook: Saint Vincent College Public Relations

PR 2012-526