Home > SVCPulse > News Archive

Eighty-nine to Participate in March for Life

Public Relations
Posted: Tuesday Jan 22, 2013

Jan. 22, 2013

Eighty-nine Saint Vincent College students will participate in the 40th annual March for Life on Jan. 25 on the National Mall in Washington, D.C.

Under the direction of coordinator Mary Kate Kenna of the Saint Vincent College Respect for Life Club, the group will travel by bus accompanied by Br. Norman W. Hipps, O.S.B., president, and Fr. Jean-Luc Zadroga, O.S.B., Saint Vincent College Campus Minister. The Saint Vincent delegation is sponsored by the Office of Campus Ministry in cooperation with the campus chapter of the Knights of Columbus and the Respect Life Club.

One group of students will leave Thursday evening and attend the rally at the Verizon Center. Another group will depart early Friday morning. Both groups will attend Mass on Capitol Hill and march together.

The March for Life, which has been held every year on the anniversary of the 1973 U.S. Supreme Court’s Roe v. Wade decisions that overturned all state laws against abortion, will begin with a noon rally and be followed by a march down the Mall to the Capitol and Supreme Court.

The Saint Vincent group will join with tens of thousands of abortion protestors including about 6,000 marchers from southwestern Pennsylvania.

Saint Vincent College participants will include Eric Auth, Erika Anstead, Mark Azzarello, Claire Badman, Natalie Baker, Mike Belitsky, John Bonacchi, Jacob Boros, Lucas Briola, Christi Bujno, Anna Christy, Tom Cocchi, Edward Consoli, Anthony Costantino, Ryan Coyne, Luke Daghir, Monika Derboghossian, Colleen Fisher, Emily Fisher, Julie Fitzer, Will Fitzgerald, Sarah Formica, Jake Fox, Mimika Garesche, Dante Gentile, Paige Gibbons, Emma Hamling, Kelsey Harris, Rachel Hast, Luke Haywiser, Shauna Hetrick, Anna Hoffman, Mary Kate Kenna, Patrick Kenna, Josh Kilmer, Jessica Kissel, Kassia Krol, Sara Krug, Aaron Kushner, Maria Lang, Jonathan Leuschel, Allie Liboski, Maggie Loya, Megan Lucas, Alyssa Luther, John Meyerhofer, Phillip Meyerhofer, Alexis Milinski, John Mitrik, Rory Mitrik, Joni Mulvaney, Evan Neely, Thomas Nielsen, Zach Noble, James Orange, Pat O’Reilly, Tim Oxenreiter, Michael Parisi, Samantha Pashel, Justin Petrovich, Andrew Razanauskas, Sarah Riffon, Emily Rosati, Stephanie Rubin, Kate Scanlon, Caitlin Schratz, Laura Scroggins, Eric Shearer, Jacob Sheehan, Steve Sherman, Lenna Shoplik, Stacie Sikora, Michelle Smith, Maria Solomond, Kayla Stadelman, Charles Staines, Kate Steinel, Andrew Strezo, Hope Swain, Shannon Tantlinger, Mikayla Trinkley, Michael Villavicencio, Thomas Waruszewski, Beth Anne Wieber, Regina Woloshun, Natalie Woodruff and Zaza Yanosick.


Follow us on Twitter: @MySaintVincent
Like us on Facebook: