Home > SVCPulse > News Archive

Six SVC Students Named Biology Scholars

Public Relations
Posted: Wednesday Feb 5, 2014

Feb. 5, 2014

Six freshman biology majors at Saint Vincent College have been named S-STEM Scholars and awarded four-year scholarships valued at up to $40,000 each. Aaron Burger, right, a sophomore biology major from Hollidaysburg who is serving as the S-STEM upperclass leader, congratulates the recipients, from left, Hannah Becker of North East, Erica Johns of Butler, Esther Love of Claysburg, Kara Rhine of Kittanning, Alyson Rusak of Sarver and Kayla Uveges of Cresson. The scholarships are funded by the National Science Foundation Scholarships in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (S-STEM). Twelve additional freshman scholars will be named by Saint Vincent in the next two years. Applicants must have a high school grade point average of 3.0 or higher, be a U.S. citizen with financial need and reside in specified Pennsylvania counties. The scholarship requires the students to major in biology at the Herbert W. Boyer School of Natural Sciences, Mathematics and Computing at Saint Vincent and participate in journal clubs, fulfill sophomore laboratory rotations, meet with career services annually and attend or present at a local, national or international research conference in their junior or senior year. Coordinator of the program is Dr. Jennifer L. Koehl, associate professor of biology.


Follow us on Twitter: @MySaintVincent
Like us on Facebook: