Home > SVCPulse > News Archive

SVC Presents Awards at Spring Honors Convocation

Public Relations
Posted: Monday May 5, 2014

May 5, 2014

Saint Vincent College presented awards to faculty and students at the annual Spring Honors Convocation held on April 23 in the Saint Vincent Basilica.

President Br. Norman W. Hipps, O.S.B., presented senior Tanner Beal of Hagerstown, Md., with the President’s Award. Honored faculty included: Dr. Jason Jividen, assistant professor of politics, who was presented with the Quentin Schaut Faculty Award; and Dr. William Snyder, professor of English, who was presented the Boniface Wimmer Award.

Zachary Zuck of New Kensington, was the recipient of the 1968 Fr. Ronald Gorka Scholarship Award, presented by Dr. Jason Jividen, assistant professor of politics and Dr. Susan Sommers, professor of history. Chloe T. Wertz, of Latrobe, was presented with the Ragan Poetry Award, presented by Michelle Gil-Montero, assistant professor of English.

Student Government Association Senior Awards were presented to Tanner C. Beal; Megan K. Lucas of Woodstock, Maryland; Thomas C. Mengers of Claymont, Del.; Emily J. Rosati of Oakdale; and Christopher P. Toy of Kittanning. Student Government Association Awards were also presented to Dr. Jason E. King, assistant professor of theology, and Cheryl Herman, secretary, Student Affairs.

Graduate Awards for Academic Excellence in the Major Field of Study were presented to the following students: Kristen J. Crowe of Blairsville, Education Information and Library Science; Stephen M. Dymond of Greensburg, Science Education; Jessica L. Foor of Latrobe, Special Education; Laurie A. Golobish of Greensburg, School Administration and Supervision; Mathew H. Hagg of Smethport, Instructional Design and Technology; Jessica Lenhart of Derry, Operational Excellence; and Sheena Zolla of Friedens, Curriculum and Instruction.

Undergraduate Awards for Excellence in the Major Field of Study were presented to the following students: Kristi M. Angelo of Greensburg, Spanish; Jesse R. Campbell of Bethel Park, Accounting; Joseph A. Carroll of Somerset, English; Leigha K. Critchfield of Boswell, Sociology; Christina M. Denslinger of Erie, Psychology; Abigail J. Geisel of Schnecksville, Communication; Joshua J. Gongaware of Irwin, Economics and Mathematics; Alexandra C. Haggerty of Johnstown, Public Policy; Lauren R. Harris of Greensburg, Early Childhood Education; Kelsey E. Harris of Somerset, History; Anthony G. Jackel of Harrison City, Marketing; Alexandra G. Kania of Greensburg, Criminology, Law and Society; Jennifer L. Klimek of Pittsburgh (15205), Bioinformatics; Mia R. LoNigro of Connellsville, Management; Jacob M. Mayers of DuBois, Biochemistry; Rebecca K. McGrail of Steubenville, Ohio, Environmental Chemistry; Matthew J. Miller of Apollo, Studio Arts; Nicole M. Nalevanko of Greensburg, Middle Grade Education; Michael A. Parisi of Reading, Philosophy and Theology; Justin P. Petrovich of Pittsburgh (15220), Finance; Greggory C. Reese of Greensburg, Politics; Ryan D. Riesmeyer of Murrysville, Business Education Information Technology; Aubrey N. Saloka of Johnstown, Music; Thomas A. Sauk of Murrysville, Physics; Amanda E. Schrott of Latrobe, Art History; Kathleen M. Sigg of Bethel Park, International Business; Jonathan P. Vega of Fairfax, Va., Computing and Information Science; Casandra R. Wagner of Greensburg, Environmental Science; Michael C. Waver of Webster, N.Y., Graphic Design; Elizabeth A. Wieber of Sykesville, Md., Chemistry; Patrick D. Wilkinson of Apollo, Biology; and Natalie J. Woodruff of Ringoes, N.J., Art Education.

Special citations and awards were presented to the following students: Noah W. Hemminger of Somerset, Pre-Engineering Award; Courtney M. James of St. Marys, Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants Award; Nicholas A. Killen of Pittsburgh (15205), Outstanding Student-Alumni Leadership Award; Cassie R. Overly of Greensburg, Student Educator Award – Secondary; and Sarah K. Rebitch of Delmont, ACBSP Student Leadership Award.

The following students received A. J. Palumbo Student Research Endowment Fund Awards: Kimberly J. Alexander of Port Deposit, Maryland; Kylie Auman of St. Marys; Michael R. Belitsky of Holtwood; Daniel J. Bell of Latrobe; Alexander R. Billy of Monessen; Kristina M. Boburka of Pittsburgh (15205); Julia M. Bosco of Latrobe; Bo Bowser of Kittanning; Justin M. Bright of Elizabeth; Sara N. Campbell of Latrobe; Sarah J. Campbell of Bethel Park; Joseph A. Carroll of Somerset; Danielle M. Catalano of St. Marys; Sirena A. Claxon of Carnegie; Susan M. Costantini of Steubenville, Ohio; Ethan J. Crace of Scottdale; Marla M. Crawford of Valencia; Benjamin J. Daghir of St. Marys; Christina M. Denslinger of Erie; Jeffrey P. Donatelli of Hatboro; Shawnna L. Edwards of Greensburg; Daniel R. Egan of Irwin; Emily K. Fisher of Monroeville; Lauren G. Fockler of Windber; Jacob D. Fox of Ligonier; Christopher T. Gallaher of Summerhill; Adam M. Golian of Valley City, Ohio; Joshua J. Gongaware of Irwin; Shelby L. Hebenthal of Latrobe; Patrick Hewitt of New Florence; Brandon S. Holmes of Sutersville; Justin R. Hood of Indiana; Evan J. Hrobak of Spring Church; Morgan N. Iacovino of Charleroi; Courtney R. Kaminski of Lower Burrell; Elisabeth V. Karnes of Washington; Jenna M. Koshar of Latrobe; Sean K. Kretovics of Kent, Ohio; Kassia A. Krol of Elizabeth; Patrick S. Logan of Homer City; Matthew M. Mackey of Granger, Ind.; John A. Malone of Connellsville; Jacob M. Mayers of DuBois; Molly C. McCloskey of Kenmore, Wash.; Nicole L. McCracken of Scottdale; Alyssa A. McCuistion of Bethel Park; Rebecca K. McGrail of Steubenville, Ohio; Aliethia E. McLeod of New York, N.Y. (10036); Sean Merritt of Greensburg; Lawrence K. Metsger of Greensburg; Alexandra M. Mientus of Sarver; Peter J. Montini of New Castle; Jacob Murtaugh of Holmdel, N.J.; Abigail S. Neish of Greensburg; George W. Petree of Apollo; Jennifer M. Queck of Vandergrift; Cody M. Ray of Greensburg; Brittany T. Roberts of Hopwood; Connor M. Rohrback of St. Marys; Molly G. Ruffner of Brookville; Alexander J. Rupprecht of St. Marys; Emily J. Satkovich of Somerset; Kelley E. Sedlock of Northern Cambria; Anthony P. Sellitto of North Huntingdon; Kendra L. Stansak of Connellsville; Paul M. Steinhauser of Greensburg; Joseph H. Stopansky of Apollo; Bennett T. Summers of Lorton, Va.; Keith A. Waddell of Halethorpe, Md.; Justin A. Wells of Greensburg; Chloe T. Wertz of Latrobe; Colton M. Westerbeck of Latrobe; Elizabeth A. Wieber of Sykesville, Md.; and Tyler J. Young of Cecil.


Follow us on Twitter: @MySaintVincent
Like us on Facebook:

PR 2014-176