Students Named Clare Boothe Luce Scholars

by Public Relations | May 22, 2018

May 23, 2018

Br. Norman Hipps O.S.B., Claire Galvin, Sarah Wozniak, Dr. John Smetanka, Dr. Stephen Jodis

Two Saint Vincent College students have been named Clare Boothe Luce Scholars in conjunction with a new program funded by the Clare Boothe Luce (CBL) program of the Henry Luce Foundation which is designed to increase the number of women who enroll and graduate as leaders in computing, engineering science and physics. SVC is one of only 11 colleges and universities in the United States awarded CBL grants during this academic year.

Claire Galvin of Charles Town, West Virginia, an engineering science major, and Sarah Wozniak of Uniontown, a physics major, have been named CBL Scholars and will receive full tuition, fees, room and board for their junior and senior years through a combination of grant and college funds.

In addition, they will be compensated for participation in a summer research program or the Clare Boothe Luce Scholar STEM Module Development Summer Program, a six-week residential program at SVC. For the Summer STEM Program, the scholars would work with a faculty member to develop modules for use in middle and high school programming that encourage young women to pursue STEM fields. If the Scholars choose the research component, they can either apply for a summer assignment through the National Science Foundation Research Experience for Undergraduates program or at a national laboratory initiative or will be paired with a Saint Vincent College faculty member conducting summer research.

Galvin plans to earn a master’s degree in engineering and possibly a Ph.D. For the past four summers, she has participated in a mission trip to Webster Springs, West Virginia, where she and her co-attendees have replaced roofs on the homes of impoverished families. She also organized a summer engineering camp at her church. Her Saint Vincent College mentor is Dr. Daniele Arcara, chair of the department of mathematics. She was selected because of her leadership abilities, her interest in a career in engineering, her strong academic background and her commitment to helping others.

Wozniak is preparing for a graduate or professional program in a field of physics and is particularly interested in astrophysics. She has been working with Dr. Daniel Vanden Berk, associate professor of physics, on a research project involving the ultraviolet properties of quasars. In his letter of recommendation, Vanden Berk indicated that of the 25 or more undergraduate students who have conducted research work with him at the University of Chicago, the University of Texas, Fermilab, the University of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania State University and Saint Vincent College, he believes Wozniak is among the top 20 percent of that group. She was selected because of her interest in a career in physics/astrophysics, her strong academic background and her interest in physics research.

Two additional students will be named scholars in 2019.

During the academic year, Scholars will be encouraged to serve either as Collaborative Learning Program leaders or tutors. In addition, they will participate in activities the College hosts each year for high school students, such as the Pasta Engineering Bridge Competition or Cybersecurity Day. They also will be available to participate in SVC’s Get Acquainted Days to meet and talk with women interested in the selected majors. Finally, each junior Scholar will be assigned to mentor 1-3 first-year female students majoring in the CBL Scholars’ fields.

Serving on the Scholarship Selection Committee were Dr. John Smetanka, vice president for academic affairs and associate professor of physics; Dr. Stephen Jodis, dean of the Herbert W. Boyer School of Natural Sciences, Mathematics and Computing and professor of computing and information systems; Dr. Paul Follansbee, chair and James F. Will Professor of Engineering Science; Dr. Cynthia Martincic, chair and associate professor of computing and information systems; Dr. Anis Maize, chair and professor of physics; and Dr. Jennifer Diemunsch, assistant professor of mathematics.

Clare Boothe Luce (1903-1987) was instrumental in establishing the Atomic Energy Commission and was appointed U.S. Ambassador to Italy (1953), becoming the first American woman to represent her country to a major world power. In 1981, President Ronald Reagan appointed Luce to the President's Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board, and in 1983, she received the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

Leaving the majority of her estate to The Henry Luce Foundation, she declined to restrict her vision to the fields in which she had established her reputation. She chose instead to establish a legacy that would benefit current and future generations of women with talent and ambition in areas where they continue to be severely underrepresented ̶ science, mathematics and engineering. Her bequest created a program that is one of the single largest private sources of funding for women in those fields in higher education.

Luce was posthumously inducted into the National Women’s Hall Of Fame on Sept. 16, 2017.

In addition to Saint Vincent, grants were awarded to George Washington University, Iona College, Lawrence University, Purdue University, the University of Chicago, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, University of San Diego, University of San Francisco and Virginia Tech.


NEW SCHOLARS WELCOMEDClaire Galvin and Sarah Wozniak, center, were welcomed as the first Clare Boothe Luce Scholars at Saint Vincent College by, from left, Br. Norman W. Hipps, O.S.B., president; Dr. John Smetanka, vice president for academic affairs and academic dean; and Dr. Stephen Jodis, dean of the Herbert W. Boyer School of Natural Sciences, Mathematics and Computing.


Follow us on Twitter: @MySaintVincent
Like us on Facebook:



Upcoming Events More