SVC Students Named Clare Boothe Luce Scholars

by Public Relations | May 20, 2019

Clare Boothe Luce Scholars
LATROBE, Pennsylvania – Two Saint Vincent College students have been named Clare Boothe Luce Scholars in conjunction with a program founded by the Clare Boothe Luce (CBL) program of the Henry Luce Foundation which is designed to increase the number of women who will enroll and graduate as leaders in computing, engineering science and physics.

Lynn-Marie Vaughan, a computer science major from Beltsville, Maryland, and Danielle Zemba, a cybersecurity major from Derry, have been named CBL Scholars and will receive full tuition, room and board for their junior and senior years through a combination of grant and college funds.

In addition, they will be compensated for taking part in the Clare Boothe Luce Scholar STEM Module Development Program, a six-week residential program at Saint Vincent College. Vaughan and Zemba will work with a faculty member to develop modules for use in middle and high school programming that encourage young women to pursue STEM fields.

During the academic year, they will be encouraged to serve as either Collaborative Learning Program leads or tutors. In addition, they will participate in activities that Saint Vincent College hosts each year for high school students, such as the annual Pasta Engineering Bridge Competition or Cybersecurity Day. They will also be available to participate in SVC’s Get Acquainted Days to meet and talk with women interested in the selective majors, while each scholar will also be assigned to mentor up to three first-year female students majoring in the CBL Scholars’ fields.

Serving on the scholarship selection committee were Dr. John Smetanka, academic dean and vice president of academic affairs; Dr. Stephen Jodis, dean of the Saint Vincent College Herbert W. Boyer School of Natural Sciences, Mathematics and Computing; Dr. Cynthia Martincic, associate professor of computing; Dr. Jennifer White, assistant professor of mathematics; Dr. Stacy Birmingham, chair and professor of engineering science; Dr. William Birmingham, chair and professor of computing and information science; and Dr. David Grumbine, chair and professor of physics.

This marks the second year in which Saint Vincent College has awarded undergraduate scholarships through the Clare Boothe Luce grant, with Claire Galvin, an engineering major, and Sarah Wozniak, a physics major, being named recipients in 2018.

Clare Boothe Luce (1903-87) was instrumental in establishing the Atomic Energy Commission and became the first American woman to represent her country to a major world power when she was named U.S. Ambassador to Italy in 1953. In 1981, President Ronald Regan appointed her to the President’s Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board, and in 1983, she received the Presidential Medal of Freedom. 

Leaving the majority of her estate to the Henry Luce Foundation, she declined to restrict her vision to the fields in which she had established her reputation. She instead chose to leave a legacy that would benefit current and future generations of women with talent and ambition in areas where they continue to be severely underrepresented – science, mathematics and engineering. Her bequest created a program that is one of the single largest private sources of funding for women in those fields in higher education.

Luce was posthumously inducted into the National Women’s Hall of Fame on Sept. 16, 2017.


PHOTO (from left to right): Dr. John Smetanka, Saint Vincent vice president of academic affairs; Danielle Zemba; Lynn-Marie Vaughan; Dr. Stephen Jodis, dean of the Herbert W. Boyer School of Natural Sciences, Mathematics and Computing; and Br. Norman Hipps, O.S.B., Ph.D., Saint Vincent College president


Twitter: @MySaintVincent
Instagram: @SaintVincentCollege
YouTube: Saint Vincent College 





Upcoming Events More