• Did You Know?
    • At Saint Vincent, where 16 percent of the faculty are Benedictine priests and brothers, faculty and staff value each student and invest in their growth, both intellectual and spiritual. They provide a welcoming, supportive community and a challenging academic environment to help student make a purposeful start in life.
    • SVC offers up to $20,500 in renewable merit scholarships for high-achieving students.
Home > SVCPulse > News Archive

Awards Presented at Spring Honors Convocation

Public Relations
Posted: Wednesday Apr 24, 2013

April 24, 2013

Saint Vincent College presented awards to faculty and students at the annual Spring Honors Convocation held on April 24 in the Saint Vincent Basilica.

President Br. Norman W. Hipps, O.S.B., presented senior Olivia R. Sharkey of Philadelphia with the President’s Award. Honored faculty included: Dr. Elaine Bennett, assistant professor of anthropology, who was presented with the Quentin Schaut Faculty Award; and Dr. Caryl Fish, associate professor of chemistry, who was presented the Boniface Wimmer Award.

Margaret E. Garvey of Frederick, Maryland, was the recipient of the 1968 Fr. Ronald Gorka Scholarship Award, presented by Thomas Harbert, coach of the women’s cross country team. Kaitlyn A. Hlebechuk, of Jeannette, was presented with the Ragan Poetry Award, presented by Michelle Gil-Montero, assistant professor of English.

Student Government Association Senior Awards were presented to Angela M. Delfine of Pittsburgh (15227); Bridget K. Fitzpatrick of Pittsburgh (15241); Mary Kate Kenna of Chantilly, Virginia; Sean T. Murphy of Marlton, New Jersey; and Olivia R. Sharkey of Philadelphia. Student Government Association Awards were presented to Dr. Jason Jividen, assistant professor of politics, and Patti Bean, Parkhurst Dining Service.

Graduate Awards for Academic Excellence in the Major Field of Study were presented to the following students: Bethany Ickes of Irwin, Curriculum and Instruction; Jordan W. Jaffe of Latrobe, Special Education; Tracey Kuchar of Hunker, School Administration and Supervision; Liang Liang of Latrobe, Operational Excellence; Jill Muir of Armagh, Health Services Leadership; and Briana L. Taylor of Ebensburg, Educational Media and Technology.

Undergraduate Awards for Excellence in the Major Field of Study were presented to the following students: Emily F. Amond of New Alexandria, Chemistry; Lucas F. Briola of Pittsburgh (15205), Theology; Bobbi-Lynn Brooks of Connellsville, Middle Grade Education; Joshua C. Catalano of Saint Marys, History; Christie L. Cyktor of West Newton, Biochemistry; Samantha R. Deter of Sykesville, Spanish; Brittany K. Devine of Altoona, Accounting; Holden A. Diethorn of Latrobe, Politics; Joseph M. Gray of Hopedale, Ohio, Mathematics; Colleen M. Hanlon of Hollidaysburg, Art Education; Lindsay Heider of Ligonier, Marketing; Jacob M. Hendrick of Ligonier, Environmental Chemistry; Hannah R. Henke of Pittsburgh (15237), Criminology, Law and Society; Shauna M. Hetrick of Johnstown, Computing and Information Science; Kaitlyn A. Hlebechuk of Jeannette, Economics; Joshua G. Martin of Blairsville, Bioinformatics; Meredith R. McGuire of Strongsville, Ohio, Biology; Joshua K. McNutt of McSherrystown, Management; Clemente Mejia of New York, New York (10029), International Business; Phillip M. Meyerhofer of Leesburg, Virginia, Physics; Bernadette E. Miller of South Lyon, Michigan, Art History; Elizabeth M. Miller of Sewickley, Environmental Science; Brian T. Myers of Saint Marys, Music; Briana L. Pocratsky of Scottdale, Sociology; Michael R. Puskar of Monongahela, Finance; Stacey J. Pydynkowski of Mount Pleasant, Studio Arts; Joshua D. Rigone of Newport News, Virginia, Physics Education; Brooke E. Stayer of Altoona, Psychology; Sadie E. Stresky of Allison Park, Communication; Zachary A. Tackett of Lower Burrell, Anthropology and English; Drew D. Thomas of Latrobe, Graphic Design; Emily E. Zeh of Jefferson Hills, Early Childhood Education; and Abigail Zlockie of Indiana, Business Education Information Technology.

Special citations and awards were presented to the following students: Abigail L. Bryant of Rockford, Tennessee, ACBSP Student Leadership Award; Ronald W. Edwards of Brockway, Pre-Engineering Award; Neal M. Nanassy of New Florence, Student Educator Award – Secondary; and Amber M. Trumbetta of Crabtree, Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants Award.

The following students received A. J. Palumbo Student Research Endowment Fund Awards: Erica Alcibiade of Ford City; Emily Amond of New Alexandria; Brittany Banks of North Irwin; Bethany Biesinger of Johnstown; Cortney Chelecki of Sarver; Marla Crawford of Valencia; Robert Crovak of Jeannette; Christie Cyktor of West Newton; Paul Davis of Olympia, Washington; Rebecca Deane of Freedom; Angela Delfine of Pittsburgh (15227); Caitlin DelSardo of McKeesport; Giadona Denardo of McKeesport; John Donoghue of Hagerstown, Maryland; Charlie Fencil of Mount Pleasant; Joelso Ferreira of Latrobe; Andrew Fischer of Pittsburgh (15237); Colleen Fisher of Cheswick; Jeremy Flynn of Sterling, Virginia; Amanda Gans of Pittsburgh (15241); Michael Gross of Derry; Dena Gula of Pittsburgh (15235); Heidi Hellmuth of Walkersville, Maryland; Jacob Hendrick of Ligonier; Evan Hrobak of Spring Church; Dakota Hutchinson of Rector; Courtney Kaminski of Lower Burrell; Lauren Kasecky-Lardner of Nanty Glo; David Kaser of Greensburg; Emily Lauterbach of Pittsburgh (15227); Kelsey Linstrum of New Milford, Connecticut; Devin Lynch of Saltsburg; Al Mamaril of New Castle; Jillian Masciantonio of Jeannette; Michael Mash of Jeannette; Jacob Mayers of DuBois; Gene Michael of Pittsburgh 15236; Sean Murphy of Marlton, New Jersey; Zachary Noble of Burke, Virginia; Allen Osinski of Jeannette; Elom Pedanou of Worcester, Massachusetts; Chansler Poole of Harrison City; Rachel Reading of Frederick, Maryland; Lindsay Richardson of Pittsburgh (15226); Emily Ritrosky of Kittanning; Benjamin Rossmiller of Pleasant Unity; Carmen Russo of McKeesport; Aslihan Sakar of Greensburg; Samantha Shumaker of Canonsburg; Kendra Stansak of Connellsville; Brooke Stayer of Altoona; Paul Steinhauser of Greensburg; Ashlee Stevens of New Castle; Maria Swasy of Blairsville; Zachary Tackett of Lower Burrell; David Tiberi of Fairbank; Michael Wasko of Coal Township; Patrick Wilkinson of Apollo; and Steffani Zuraw of Belle Vernon.


Follow us on Twitter: @MySaintVincent
Like us on Facebook:

PR 2013-248