Skip to main content

Threshold Series

Threshhold Logo

Saint Vincent College established the Threshold Series in 1981 when the Kennametal Foundation of Latrobe made a substantial grant to the College for the creation of an ongoing series of lectures and cultural events.

Douglas Dodds

Thursday, April 23, 2020 (POSTPONED)
7:30 p.m.
Performing Arts Center

Douglas Dodds

Saint Vincent College’s Threshold Lecture Series will continue on Thursday, April 23, with a presentation by Douglas Dodds, senior curator of the Victoria and Albert Museum (V&A) in London.

Dodds’ lecture will focus on the vital role an academic institution plays in encouraging intellectual inquiry, cultural creation and the preservation of artistic legacies.

In his role as senior curator in the Word and Image Department at the V&A, Dodds is responsible for developing its digital art collections, which range from early computer art to recent born-digital works. He has curated a variety of exhibitions and displays at the V&A, including “Chance and Control: Art in the Age of Computers (2018),” “Barbara Nessim: An Artful Life (2013)” and “Digital Pioneers (2009-10),” as well as an expanded version of the Nessim exhibition in the Bard Graduate Center in New York City.

Dodds has spearheaded the digitalizing of the V&A’s Word and Image Department’s prints, drawings, paintings and photograph collections. This includes leading the museum’s “Deciphering Dickens” project, aimed at making its extensive collections of Charles Dickens’ manuscripts accessible online.

Dodds has been instrumental in raising awareness of the significance of early computer-generated art on a global stage, particularly that of Roman Verostko, a former member of the Saint Vincent Benedictine community who went on to a distinguished art career and is now professor emeritus at Minneapolis School of Art and Design. Dodds’ interest in Verostko’s work has prompted the V&A to amass an impressive collection of the artist’s work, second only in size to Saint Vincent’s holdings.

Admission is free, but reservations are required and may be made by clicking the registration button or calling 724-805-2177.

Register Grandparents University

Dodds’ presentation is part of a daylong celebration of art at Saint Vincent College. From 3-4:30 p.m., he will be joined by Verostko and art scholars Charissa Terranova, Ph.D., Grant Taylor, Ph.D., and Kerry Morgan, Ph.D., for a panel discussion on Verostko’s influence on the history of digital artmaking, interest of cross-cultural exchange in the electronic age and his impact on the contemporary artists who employ generative processes in their work. The panel is free and open to the public and will take place in the Robert S. Carey Student Center’s Performing Arts Center. Reservations can be made online at

Following Dodds’ Threshold Lecture, attendees will be invited to view three exhibitions in the new Verostko Center for the Arts located inside the Dale P. Latimer Library.  “Roman Verostko and the Cloud of Unknowing: From Ideas in Mind to Ideas in Code” will feature more than 70 works by Verostko from Saint Vincent’s holdings, including his early video pieces, pen-plotted drawings, mural projects, artist books and newer editioned prints. “Royal Patronage: Selections from King Ludwig I of Bavaria Gift” features artwork, musical instruments and books gifted by King Ludwig to Saint Vincent College upon its founding in the mid-19th century. “Arrayed in Gold: Icons from the Anna and Tadeusz Kozminski Collection” will display 19th and 20th century Coptic, Byzantine and Orthodox iconography collected on behalf of the Kozminskis over a 40-year span.

  • Previous Speakers

    Previous Speakers

    Threshold logo

    Previous Threshold speakers have included:

    • Br. Guy Consolmagno, S.J.
    • Carl Sagan
    • Isaac Asimov
    • Claire Bloom
    • Alex Haley
    • Lt. General James A. Abrahamson
    • Stephen F. Cohen
    • Ralph Nader
    • Robert Jarvik
    • Michael Medved
    • Jane Bryant Quinn
    • Harold S. Kushner
    • Robert F. Kennedy, Jr.
    • Archduke Rudolph of Austria
    • Roger Cossack
    • Heinz-Joachim Fischer
    • Jerome Oetgen
    • Benjamin Zander
    • Colleen Carroll Campbell
    • Neil deGrasse Tyson
    • Steven Johnson