Skip to main content

Twelve Inducted into Lambda Pi Eta

by Public Relations | June 02, 2021

LATROBE, PA – Twelve Saint Vincent College students recently earned induction into Lambda Pi Eta, the official honor society of the National Communication Association.

To be eligible for admission into Lambda Pi Eta, students must have completed 60 semester credit hours; hold an overall grade point average of at least 3.0; complete the equivalent of 12 semester credit hours in communication courses; hold a minimum GPA of 3.25 in communication coursework; and be enrolled as a student in good standing, as determined by the institution’s policies.

The 2021 Saint Vincent College inductees include:

In addition to the new inductees, previous inductees of Lambda Pi Eta who were part of the College's 2021 graduating class were also recognized, including Noah Aftanas, a communication major from New Kensington; Shaye Beeman, a digital arts and media major from Somerset; Lilly McCormick, a communication major from Clarksburg, West Virginia; Megan Manion, a communication major from Bethel Park; Lauren McSwigan, a communication major from Gibsonia; Isaac Pesicka, a communication major from Cleveland; Sydney Peretin, a communication major from Venetia; Anthony Restrepo, a communication major from Miami, Florida; Michael Schollaert, a communication major from Pittsburgh (15239) and Julia Snyder, an English and communication double major from Murrysville. 

Dr. Melinda Farrington, assistant professor of communication, serves as the faculty adviser of the Saint Vincent chapter of Lambda Pi Eta, while Pesicka served as the chapter’s 2020-21 president. Other members of the student leadership team included Aftanas, Manion and Sydney Peretin.

Founded in 1985 at the University of Arkansas, Lambda Pi Eta became the official honor society of the National Communication Association in 1995. On Dec. 8, 2006, the Upsilon Nu Chapter was officially established at Saint Vincent College. 

The goals of Lambda Pi Eta are to recognize, foster and reward outstanding scholastic achievement in communication studies; stimulate interest in the field of communication; promote and encourage professional development among communication majors; provide an opportunity to discuss and exchange ideas in the field of communication; establish and maintain closer relationships between faculty and students; and explore options for graduate education in communication studies.


PHOTO (from left to right): Dr. Annie-Laurie Nichols (assistant professor of communication), Dr. David Safin (associate professor of communication), Annie Trader, Maria Claybaugh, Victoria Viola, Noah Plappert, Anthony Restrepo, Lauren McSwigan, Katie Oxenreiter, Nicole Zemba, Shaye Beeman, Megan Manion, Sydney Peretin, Genevieve LaFosse, Samantha Rogers, Michael Schollaert, Matis Stephens, Julia Snyder, Zakiya Moses, Hannah Noel, Dr. Jessica Harvey (associate professor of communication) and Dr. Melinda Farrington (assistant professor of communication).


Twitter: @MySaintVincent
Saint Vincent College